The General Assembly on 6 December 2017 elected two new Foreign Members: Gábor Stépán, Professor of Applied Mechanics at Budapest University of Technology and Economics (BME) and Jaan Valsiner, Professor of Psychology at Clark University (Worcester, Massachusetts), Niels Bohr Professor of Cultural Psychology at Aalborg University









Events and activities

On 5 January 2018 young Estonian researchers from all over the world gathered at the Academy House for their second joint conference, this time titled "Greatest Challenges in the 21st Century".

The conference has been initiated by young Estonian researchers abroad and it was organised together with the Estonian Academy of Sciences and the Estonian Young Academy of Sciences.
More details (in Estonian):

On 9-10 October 2017 the Academy hosted an international conference on the marine environment.The conference "From small scales to large scales" brought together environmental conservation and environmental awareness experts from three countries bordering the Gulf of Finland – Finland, Estonia and Russia.
For more details please refer to the schedule, program and abstracts.
The event has received funding from the Estonian Environmental Investment Centre.

On 12 September 2017 the Academy hosted the first Endel Lippmaa Memorial Lecture given by Nobel Laureate Kurt Wüthrich (born 1938; Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2002). The lecture was preceded by the conferral of the Endel Lippmaa Memorial Medal on Professor Wüthrich by President of the Academy Tarmo Soomere.
Overview of all awards conferred by the Academy is available here
For background information (in Estonian) to the lecture, photos and video of the event, click here.

On 31 May 2017, the Estonian Young Academy of Sciences (EYAS) was established at the initiative of the Estonian Academy of Sciences. EYAS is an independent organisation representing the voices and interests of young scientists and scholars in Estonia.
On 24-26 May 2017, the Estonian Academy of Sciences hosted the EASAC Council meeting in Tallinn.

The European Academies' Science Advisory Council (
EASAC) is formed by the national science academies of the EU Member States. It was founded in 2001. Through EASAC, the academies work together to provide independent, expert, evidence-based advice about the scientific aspects of public policy to those who make or influence policy within the European institutions.The Council is EASAC's full assembly and governing body. It meets every 6 months, usually at the Academy of the EU member state which is in line to take over the EU's Presidency six months later.

The General Assembly on 7 December 2016 elected three new Members of the Academy:
Jaan Eha - Professor, Head of the Clinic of Cardiology, Tartu University Hospital; Maarja Kruusmaa - Professor, Acting Head of the Centre for Biorobotics, Vice-Dean of Research and Development, Faculty of Information Technology, Tallinn University of Technology; Anu Raud - Estonian folk art investigator, educator and promoter, Professor Emeritus, University of Tartu.        




RESEARCH IN ESTONIA. PRESENT AND FUTURE. 2011. ISBN 978-9949-92003-1-0       

Recently published Year Book