International Organisations

Estonian Academy of Sciences represents Estonia in the following scientific organisations that join Academies in Europe or across the world:  

European Science Advisors Forum (ESAF)

ESAF is a Europe-wide network of government science advisors. It was  set up in June 2014 by Professor Anne Glover, then Chief Scientific Advisor to the president of the European Commission, Jose Manuel Barroso, in the belief that an accurate, unbiased synthesis of the available evidence is one of the most valuable contributions a research community can offer democratic decision-makers.

The Ministry of Education and Research nominated the President of EAS as Estonian representative in ESAF. EAS is chairing ESAF since June 2020.

European Academies’ Science Advisory Council (EASAC)

EAS became eligible for membership in 2004 at the accession of Estonia to the EU. Estonian member of EASAC Council is Jaak Järv, Secretary General of EAS. Professor Tarmo Soomere, EAS President, represents EAS on the EASAC Environment Steering Panel, Professor Enn Lust on the EASAC Energy Panel. Jarek Kurnitski, member of the EASAC working group "Decarbonisation of buildings"

European Federation of National Academies of Sciences and Humanities - All European Academies (ALLEA)

EAS is an active member since the ALLEA was founded in 1994. The Vice President of EAS Jüri Engelbrecht served as the President of the ALLEA in 2006-2011.

European Science Foundation (ESF)

EAS and the other Estonian member organisation, Estonian Science Foundation (EstSF) joined ESF in 2000. EAS withdrew from the ESF as of 31.12.2011. Academy continues as a member of the European Marine Board and European Polar Board.

InterAcademyPartnership, IAP: the global network of science academies

International Science Council (ISC)

EAS resumed Estonian membership in 1992. Academy also participates in the activities of the Group of the European members of ISC.

Union Académique International (UAI)

EAS is a member since 1998. Estonian delegate is Jaan Undusk, Board Member of EAS.

Consortium of European Taxonomic Facilities (CETAF),
Estonian Consortium of Natural History Collections
Contact: Prof. Urmas  Kõljalg
European Chemical Society (EuChemS)Estonian Chemical Society (ECS)
Contact: Prof. Margus Lopp, prof. Jaak Järv
European Marine Board,
Marine Commission of the
Estonian Academy of Sciences
Contact: Prof. Tarmo Soomere
European Physical Society, (EPS), www.eps.orgEstonian Physical Society
Contact: Dr Kaido Reivelt
European Polar Board (EPB),
Estonian Polar Research Committee
Contact: Prof. Rein Vaikmäe
International Astronomical Union, (IAU),
Estonian National Committee on Astronomy
Contact: Dr Laurits Leedjärv
International Association of Geomorphologists, (IAG),
Estonian National Committee of IAG
Contact: Tiit Hang
International Federation of Automatic Control, (IFAC),
Estonian National Committee for IFAC
Contact: Dr Sven Nõmm
International Geographical Union, (IGU),
Estonian National Committee for IGU
Contact: Mihkel Kangur,
International Mathematical Union, (IMU), www.mathunion.orgEstonian National Committee for Mathematics
Contact: Prof. Mati Abel
International Union of Geodesy and Geophysics, (IUGG),
Estonian Geophysical Committee
Chairman: Rein Rõõm
International Union of Geological Sciences, (IUGS),
Estonian National Committee for Geology
Contact: Prof. Kalle Kirsimäe
International Union of History and Philosophy of Science, Division of Logic, Methodology and Philosophy of Science, (IUHPS/DLMPS), of Methodology and Philosophy of Science of the Baltic Association for History and Philosophy of Science at the Estonian Association for History and Philosophy of Science
Contact: Rein Vihalemm
International Union of Pure and Applied Physics, (IUPAP),
Estonian National Committee for IUPAP
Contact: Marco Kirm
International Union for Quaternary Research (INQUA),
Estonian National Committee for INQUA (ESTQUA)
Contact: Tiit Hang
International Union of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics, (IUTAM),
Estonian National Committee for Mechanics
Contact: Prof. Andrus Salupere
Thesaurus Linguae Latinae, (TLL),
Estonian contact for TLL
Contact: Prof. Anne Lill