Medals, Prizes, Scholarships


Endel Lippmaa Memorial Lecture and Memorial Medal 

have been instituted with a view to fostering transdisciplinary and cross boundary communication of scientific discoveries and pioneering ideas, as well as highlighting the mission of the scientist in and for the society.

Bernhard Schmidt Prize 

has been instituted to recognise young scientists and engineers working in Estonia for their achievements in research and development activities and practical application of research findings.

Memorial medals (disciplinary)

Nikolai Alumäe Medal 

in informatics and engineering.

Karl Schlossmann Medal 

in medicine and related areas.

Paul Ariste Medal 

in social sciences and the humanities.

Wilhelm Ostwald Medal 

in chemistry and related areas.

Karl Ernst von Baer Medal 

in life and earth sciences.

Harald Keres Medal 

in astronomy, physics  and mathematics.

Medal of the Estonian Academy of Sciences

is the highest prize of the Academy awarded to individuals for outstanding services in development of Estonian science or in helping forward its development, as well as for services in performance of tasks of the Estonian Academy of Sciences.


of the Academy have been originated to support completion of monographic research works and popular science books, their layout and editing.

Students’ research prizes

are monetary prizes instituted by the Estonian Academy of Sciences for the purpose of according recognition to students who have attained outstanding results in scholarly work, and encouraging talented students to pursue independent research projects.

Estonian Science Communication Award 

is granted by way of competition jointly by the Estonian Academy of Sciences, the Estonian Research Council and the Ministry of Education and Research. Its purpose is to acknowledge the merits of science popularization and to recognize for their outstanding effort individual as well as groups of researchers, who have succeeded in communicating research, science achievements and researchers' activities in a generally fascinating form as well as rendering research understandable to a wider public, or who have achieved to attract the interest of young people in science and the researcher profession.