The Riga Declaration was signed at the Conference “Innovation – power of the 21st Century”

On 25th February 2020 the Riga Declaration was signed at the conference „Innovation - Power of the 21st Century” by representatives of leading universities and academies of sciences of countries around the Baltic Sea.

The main objective of the Riga Declaration is to strengthen scientific cooperation and innovation for further implementation of available and prospective outcomes derived from studies of the Baltic Sea in the context of Horizon Europe.

The Riga Declaration was signed by Professor Ojārs Spārītis, President of the Latvian Academy of Sciences, Professor Arvi Freiberg, Vice President of the Estonian Academy of Sciences, Professor Jūras Banys, President of the Lithuanian Academy of Sciences, Professor Risto Nieminen, President of the Finnish Academy of Science and Letters, Professor Indriķis Muižnieks, Elected Rector of the University of Latvia, Professor Sergei Kilin, Vice President of the National Academy of Sciences of Belarus, Professor Taina Tukiainen, Leader of the Smart Up Project Consortium, Aalto University, Markku Markkula, Vice-President of the European Committee of the Regions, Kristin Bakken, Academia Europaea Bergen Knowledge Hub Manager on behalf of Professor Eystein Jansen, Academic Director of the Academia Europaea Bergen Knowledge Hub and Professor Eugene Eteris, Expert of the European Commission Smart specialization platform.