ESTONIAN ACADEMY OF SCIENCES

Jaak Järv
Secretary General
e-mail: jaak.jarv@ut.ee

ISC Annual meeting, 9th September 2019 The Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences



Estonian Academy of Sciences became a member organization of ICSU/ISC in 1992

Estonia had link with ICSU/ISC via member Unions

(IUPAC, founded in 1922)

Today Estonian science is linked with ISC

via

16 Member Unions

Dissemination of scientific advise in society and to governmental and legislative bodies

- Members and Foreign Members of the Academy
- Academy Standing Committees (9)
- Cooperation with Science Advisers in Ministries
- Cooperation with Associated Learned Societies



Evidence for policy - securing tomorrow`s energy 17 April 2018 Tallinn, Estonia

Speakers:

Prof Tarmo Soomere President, Academy of Sciences

Tea Danilov Head of the Foresight Centre at the Estonian Parliament

Maive Rute Deputy Director-General JRC

Dr Marcelo Masera Head of Energy Security, Distribution and Markets Unit, DG JRC

Ando Leppiman Undersecretary General on Energy, Ministry of Economic Affairs and Communication

Dr Einari Kisel World Energy Council

Nicola Zaccarelli Energy Security, Distribution and Markets Unit, DG JRC

Maria Helbling Alexela Energia

Timo Tatar Head of Energy Department, Ministry of Economic

Affairs and Communication

Arturs Purvins, Energy Security, Distribution and Markets Unit, JRC

ADVISORY ROLE OF ACADEMIES IN THE INFORMATION-RICH SOCIETY 22-23 October 2018

Speakers:

Prof Sierd Cloetingh (President of the Academia Europaea and President of COST

Association; former Vice-President of European Research Council), Prof **Antonio Loprieno** (President of the Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences and President of ALLEA – All European Academies)

Dr Katrien Maes (Deputy Secretary-General of the League of European Research Universities - LERU)

Dr Johannes Klumpers (Head of the Science Advice Mechanism [SAM] Unit in the European Commission)

Prof Janusz Bujnicki (Member of the High Level Group of the SAM; Polish Academy of Sciences)

Prof Jorge Huete (Academy of Sciences of Nicaragua)

Dr Robert-Jan Smits (former General Director of the DG Research and Innovation - RTD at the European Commission)

Prof Marju Lauristin (former Minister in Estonia and former Member of the European Parliament)



Thank you for your attention!

